Superstalemate solution

This is a solution to the chess challenge I posed in a previous post. It is not the only solution.


From this position:

chess-stalemate1

8/7p/6p1/2K3pk/6pb/6p1/6P1/8 b - - 0 1

Black plays …h6. Any move by white then stalemates black.

Occasionally in a chess discussion group, someone will suggest that stalemate being a draw is a bad rule. Instead, it is suggested that the stalemated player should, in essence, be allowed and required to move into check if he has no otherwise-legal moves. Although the moves might not actually be played on the board, the notion is that his king would be captured on the next move, resulting in a loss for the player whose king was captured.

I’ll just say that if you want to make such a suggestion, or to organize a tournament with such a rule, you’d better make sure your rules account for positions like the one above.

Note that this type of issue also occurs with checkmate. Suppose white has a knight:

chess-stalemate2

8/8/6pp/2KN2pk/6pb/6p1/6P1/8 w - - 0 2

If white moves Nf6, then we have an unusual kind of checkmate. Black cannot make any move at all, not even an illegal move would leave his king in check. So, hypothetically, how does white ever get his turn to play, and hypothetically capture the black king? One might even question whether this is actually a valid checkmate, according to the rules of chess. But yes, it is covered by the rules of chess, and it is a checkmate.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s